SciThri new releases: November 2015

Here’s the ScienceThrillers.com monthly roundup of newly released, or new to me, indie science & medical thrillers.  These books are among the many I don’t have time to read and review, but genre fans might enjoy.

If you are an author or publicist and would like your book listed, contact me with title, author, release date, weblinks, and summary. Only books with scientific or medical themes or characters will be included. Ask me about hosting a giveaway raffle on your behalf (paper books only).

SciThri New (or new to me) Releases:

Special this month: Scroll down for book giveaways!

**********

Havelock by Jane D. Everly (2015). Spy/action thriller with science.

Eliana Havelock is a female with no past, whose determination to bring down a Karachi arms dealer places her in the midst of a global threat.

Mason Treadik is a weapons developer and master strategist whose development of a nano technologically enhanced super drug that turns normal people into hardened killers, catches the eye of the British Secret Intelligence Agency.

MI-6 is currently fractured due to political upheaval with many of its covert programs dissolved or disbanded. When Eliana presents the opportunity to divert an international arms disaster, the head of MI-6 partners her with one of it’s best and brightest, the enigmatic, Connor Blackwell. Together they must hunt Treadik and his designer drug across the world before the maniacal genius corners the world-wide contract killing business and brings nations to their knees.

But in a world of secrets and hidden agendas, who can Eliana trust? And what, or who, is Eliana really after?

Otto Von Trapezoid and the Empress of Thieves by Jesse Baruffi (2015). Indie humorous scifi thriller.

Otto Von Trapezoid is a mad scientist who rules an army of robots from his orbital space station. Angry and grumpy, he sees no value in humanity except becoming their ruler. Esmerelda Santa Monica is the stylish self-proclaimed “Empress of Thieves,” who values her own legend and the thrill of the theft over actual wealth. Both live lonely lives, the desire to become the greatest villains of all time primarily on their minds

When the two meet in simultaneous attempts to blackmail the UN, their instincts are to attempt to kill one another, but soon they discover a mutual attraction that neither thought possible. Once they begin to pool their resources, the pair seems on track to become the most successful evil-doers of all time and set out to conquer the world itself. But what happens when their villainous natures emerge, and both realize there can only be one absolute ruler of Earth? Can either be satisfied with being second to another?

To make matters worse, they must deal with the protestations of Otto’s sidekick robot SCRAP, the meddling of their fellow villains, their families, and worst of all, heroic superspy Jake Indestructible is determined to bring them both down, once and for all.

Filled with robot dinosaurs, exploding dinner parties, and villainous poker games, OTTO VON TRAPEZOID AND THE EMPRESS OF THIEVES is a hilarious sci-fi comedy that will leave you falling in love with the bad guys!

Farside by Patrick Chiles (2015). Hard sci fi action thriller in space.

A missing spacecraft –
A cryptic message –
And a fearsome secret hiding in plain sight.
Five years after he was marooned in Earth orbit, Ryan Hunter must go even farther to find the man who saved his life.
With former astronaut Penny Stratton, he leads an unconventional rescue team into a threat beyond anything he could have imagined. What he can’t know is that the fate of millions rests on their shoulders.
Because something big is coming…

a Rafflecopter giveaway FARSIDE
The Case of the Defunct Adjunct: A Molly Barda Mystery by Frankie Bow (2015). Cozy mystery set in public university. Author says, “a lighthearted murder mystery that affectionately portrays small-town life and big academic egos in rural Hawaii.”

When the lecherous Kent Lovely, Mahina State’s one-man hostile work environment, collapses face-first into his haupia cheesecake, the faculty retreat goes from dull to disastrous. Now Professor Molly Barda has to fight to keep an innocent out of prison—and herself off the unemployment line.

a Rafflecopter giveaway DEFUNCT ADJUNCT
Uncommon Stock: Version 1.0 (The Uncommon Series) by Eliot Peper (2015). Technothriller trilogy about a cybersecurity startup.

The Uncommon Series is a trilogy of tech startup thrillers that follows a pair of friends who drop out of college to start a software company in Boulder, CO. But their startup doesn’t just build widgets, it uncovers financial fraud. Along the way from garage to IPO, they get sucked into an international conspiracy whose influence extends from Wall Street to the White House. They juggle mysterious investors, opaque partners, critical customers, and a team that is as brilliant as it is dysfunctional until only one question remains: win or die.

Bio Adversity: A Taylor Foss CDC Investigation by Dale Kutzera (2015). Indie technothriller.

“It’s X-Files with a medical twist.”

Fans of Michael Crichton and William Gibson will love this techno-thriller.
Taylor Foss, an investigator with the CDC’s Special Pathogens Division, is sent to a small northern town to investigate a bizarre case of birth defects. There she uncovers a plot to change human genetics forever. This break-neck page-turner is packed with action, plot-twists, and compelling ideas based on medical science in use right now.

**********

Do you enjoy thrillers with real science? Read Petroplague by Dr. Amy Rogers. Oil-eating bacteria contaminate the fuel supply of Los Angeles and paralyze the city. “Compellingly written, technically literate” “top 5 on my best of 2011 list” “the science is utterly believable” “I couldn’t put this one down”

This entry was posted in Books, Monthly Roundup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.