Reversion

“If you like fast paced thrillers so realistic they’ll make you want to move to a bunker, then you’ve found your novel.” PopcornReads.com

ScienceThrillers.com presents a compilation of book reviews of REVERSION by Amy Rogers. Yes, that’s me, which is why I didn’t write any of the review excerpts shown below.

REVERSIONfrontcover
BlueStar5

(extraordinary; top 10-15% of SciThri)

Publication date: November 10, 2014
Category: science thriller; medical thriller
Tech rating (out of 5; what does this mean?):

Biohazard5

Summary:

Rabies kills. Can it also cure?

Dr. Tessa Price knows what it’s like to lose a child to an inherited genetic disease. To spare another mother this pain, she invents a radical new gene therapy that might save the life of seven-year-old Gunnar Sigrunsson. Unable to get regulatory approval to treat Gunnar in the US, she takes her clinical trial to the Palacio Centro Medico, a resort-like hospital on a Mexican peninsula where rich medical tourists get experimental treatments that aren’t available anywhere else.

When the hospital is taken over by a brutal drug cartel, Tessa hides with a remarkable trio of Palacio clients—rich Texan Lyle Simmons, his much-younger Brazilian girlfriend, and his protection dog, a German shepherd named Dixie, only to learn that gangsters aren’t the only deadly threat they face. A rabies-like infection that began in the Palacio’s research chimpanzees has spread to humans. Tessa investigates and finds a shocking connection to her gene therapy experiment. In the wake of this discovery, Tessa must weigh the value of one human life against another—including her own.

As readers of this blog know, I’ve read a lot of science-themed fiction. In case you didn’t know, I’m not only a critic, I’m an author too, and I’m delighted to announce the release of Reversion, my second science thriller novel (Petroplague came out in 2011). If you enjoy the kinds of books featured here at ScienceThrillers.com, I guarantee you’ll love Reversion. But don’t take my word for it. Here are excerpts of what other genre fans have to say.

What critics are saying about Reversion:

“Her expertise lends such verisimilitude to her stories that you may want to lock yourself into an environmentally safe bubble. If you like the types of thrillers Michael Crichton writes, let’s just say that Amy Rogers is going to give him a run for his money!” PopcornReads.com


“This thriller is loaded with medical terminology and futuristic science, but not in a way that thriller devotees would find off-putting. Anyone who can slog through Tom Clancy’s techno-fests should breeze right through the medical experiments gone awry in this story…

{Reversion features} a well-trained German Shepherd named Dixie. Instead of posting excerpts as proof of the dog’s greatness, I’ll just say she’s one of the best protagonists in a thriller, ever. #GottaLoveDixie, as I’d say on Twitter…

This novel is as smart as it is lurid. The prose is tightly crafted. Every little event holds some significance. What it is, the reader cannot guess until the story unfolds. Gradually, inexorably, we begin to see how everything happens for a reason.” Carol Kean, Perihelion SF Magazine


“The science is a consistent presence, easy to understand, enriching the story. A smart, tightly written, scary science thriller.” Kirkus Reviews


“Once again, Amy Rogers has created a gripping story that parallels the headlines we read in the papers.” Morgan Mussell, TheFirstGates.com


“This book grabs you at the very first paragraph and doesn’t let go! Amy Rogers has been compared to several other well known authors but I honestly don’t see that, she’s a force to be reckoned with and a writing style all her own.” GoodReads reviewer


“I am one of the first to complain about the rigorous regulatory oversight that goes with the territory of research and medicine, but after reading Amy Rogers’ Reversion, I might bite my tongue the next time I open my mouth to complain. Reversion is a fun medical thriller that not only gives you a great ride but also provides food for thought on the trials and tribulations of doing clinical trials in third world countries. It also raises awareness over the use of viruses in drug therapy especially viruses that may be pathogenic if they revert to a more lethal form, such as the rabies virus.” A Thrill a Week


Reversion illustrates multiple ethical dilemmas such as the loss of subjectivity in clinical trials, for-profit medicine, and primate research. In addition, experiments inherently have some error. What effect does the power of nature have on error? The power of nature is a great theme, and was also portrayed in Dr. Rogers’ first well-done book, Petroplague. But Reversion is a more mature read, in content, and in story construction.” The Febrile Muse


“Rogers artfully blends science and suspense in this top-notch thriller. Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook novels will love this book.” Brian Andrews, author of The Calypso Directive


Reversion has everything I love about science thrillers: an exotic setting, a brilliant protagonist, a terrifying villain, and a story that takes readers on a wild ride across the frontiers of science. It’s a fun, frightening and memorable novel.” Mark Alpert, Scientific American editor and author of Extinction


Still not convinced? Click here to read an excerpt.


Buy REVERSION:

Comments are closed.